Chapter 15: Caught off guard

“W-wait a bit! Why are things suddenly turning out like that?!” Ayane stood up in front of me and asked out loud.

It was lunchtime in the cafeteria of Meisei University.

There were many other students around us.

Naturally, Ayane was the focus of all their attention.

“C-calm down, Ayane. What’s the matter? It’s nothing to get flustered about, right?”

“Eh? Ah, yeah. That’s right…”

Ayane sat there with a slightly gloomy face.

The three of us gathered in the cafeteria for lunch as usual, and I told them the whole story of what happened yesterday.

The moment I finished, Ayane suddenly stood up.

Seiji, who was watching next to her, muttered, “Now it’s getting interesting…”

“Eita, just to confirm… Was it that beautiful girl, Asuka? And she brought a cake to Eita’s apartment yesterday?” Ayane asked me.

“Ah. Yeah, cheesecake.”

“I don’t care what it was. It rained so hard that the girl got soaked.”

“That’s right.”

“So Eita took her into his apartment and made her take a shower.”

“That’s right.”

“Why?!”

“Why do you say…?”

“Oh, you can’t let a girl do that, can you? She’s not even your girlfriend!”

“No, but you know what? If I hadn’t done that, she would have caught a cold for sure.”

“Yeah, I know, but! Couldn’t she just give the cake to you and hurry home?” Ayane said and took a sip of tea from a plastic teacup. 

“I’ve got to go to my next class.”

Ayane then took the tray of lunch she had eaten and quickly left.

It should still be early in the day for her next class…

“What’s really going on? Ayane doesn’t seem like her usual self.”

“Oh, man, I want to punch this guy.”

“What?”

“It’s nothing. Well, good luck!”

He said, standing up with his tray and tapping me on the shoulder.

====

“Haaah, I’ve been caught off guard…”

I arrived early at the large classroom for the next class and sighed loudly.

It even feels a bit like a joke for me.

The moment you fall in love with someone, you can’t control it.

To be honest, I’ve been pretty popular since high school.

Not only my looks but also my unnecessarily heavy chest seemed to be attractive to boys.

Even after I entered university, I was still approached by many boys.

On the surface, I’m friendly with everyone, boys and girls alike.

However… I sensed a strange ulterior motive from most of the boys.

Trying to get me to drink alcohol when I am underage or lure me out to be alone with me.

I hated it.

If it had been a boy I liked, it might have been another story, but Eita was different.

Now that I remember… It was just this classroom.

On the surface, I was trying to appear amicable. Yet, in my heart, I had put up a thin barrier between me and others.

Even in this large classroom, I sat alone.

I was listening to the lecture earnestly when I dropped my ballpoint pen trying to get an eraser from my pen case.

The boy next to me, who had taken up one of the seats, picked it up.

ED Note: I feel like this will get interesting.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started