Chapter 8:Contact her immediately!

It was a little after 9:30 at night.

After punching in my time card, Seiji and I went out the back door.

The night breeze felt good on my tired and burning cheeks.

“By the way, Eita, have you been in touch with that beautiful girl?”

“No… We haven’t contacted each other lately.”

“You! Why is that?”

No, I don’t want to be told that with such vigour.

That night, I received a message that said, “Thank you so much for today!” so I gave her a random reply and never saw her again.

“Eita, you don’t have a girlfriend right now, do you? It’s not every day you find a beautiful girl like her.”

“No, well, that may be true. What about Seiji? Are you in touch with that girl, Eri-chan?”

I avert the subject.

“It’s obvious, right? I can’t leave a cute little girl like that alone. The only thing is that Eri is pretty tough. I’m not sure what to do. Maybe she’s more used to men than we think.”

You’re playing like this, Seiji? Amazing.

Eri-chan, you are to be feared.

“Don’t worry about me. Eita, are you going to leave this chance to pass by?”

“No, but is there a chance? Besides, I don’t know what she thinks of me either… I was just helping out.”

“This is why Eita is so….”

Seiji’s pose, along the ‘Yare yare,’ makes me feel endlessly depressed.

“Did you see the look on her face? That’s the expression of a woman in love and not only that… Ah, screw it! It’s a sin not to contact her anyway! Get in touch with her immediately!”

I don’t know what it was, but Seiji was screaming at me.

I was too busy replying with a “… I’ll do my best.”

◆◆◆

After eating lunch during lunch break, I worked hard on a text with my phone in hand.

“You haven’t sent it yet?”

I heard Eri’s exasperated voice next to me.

She’s in my class, and we always eat lunch together.

“Saying something like that….”

“If it were that easy, I wouldn’t have any trouble sending it.”

“What if you send a, ‘I love you… chuu~♡’?”

“O-of course I can’t do that!”

Sometimes Eri is so mean.

“But I was really surprised. At that time, I didn’t know that Asuka would ask for his LINE like that. You’ve never done that before.”

“That’s true, but…”

I’ve never tried asking for a guy’s contact information before, as Eri said.

But at that time, I thought, ‘Never being able to see him again… I don’t want that!’ and decided to ask him.

Even though we had exchanged LINE…

After I sent him a thank you message that day, I still hadn’t been able to get in touch with Eita.

I’ve been writing and deleting LINE messages repeatedly.

I didn’t know that it was so difficult to send a message to a guy without any particular reason.

I knew I needed an excuse.

So I baked a cheesecake yesterday. It turned out very well.

I want to deliver it as soon as possible since it is a perishable product.

All I have to do is contact them via LINE and deliver it to him…

I’ve been thinking about my message since yesterday, but I’m still not sure how to write it.

“By the way, Eri, are you in contact with this Seiji-san?”

“Yes. He sent me a message as soon as he could. I’ve been replying to his messages at random. He’s a playful guy, so it’s like we’ve been keeping in touch. But I heard that he sometimes drives his car home. It might come in handy in case of an emergency.”

That’s right, Eri was this kind of girl.

She’s not a bad girl. But how do I explain it…. She doesn’t have an interest in a boyfriend, it seems.

I was going to stare at the phone for a little while longer.

If I don’t send a message fast…

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started