Chapter 10: You’re lying, right?

I was very excited.

After class, I walked quickly to the station and boarded the Chuo Line.

As it would seem, she would arrive at my apartment around 4:30. I have plenty of time to get ready.

Even though it was the beginning of October, it was still hot. Today’s temperature was 32 Celsius. [EN: 90°F]

The ground felt like it was boiling.

When I left the campus, the weather was clear and sunny, but when I arrived at Nishiogikubo, the clouds looked a little suspicious.

“I hope it doesn’t rain.”

I hurried home, wishing that it wouldn’t rain.

Thinking that maybe Asuka-chan will come up to my room, I wanted to keep the place as clean as possible.

I arrived at my apartment at half-past four.

Thank God it was not a mess.

I should prepare something to drink. There’s only apple juice in the fridge.

Would a warm drink be better?

While thinking, I looked out the window.

What? It’s cloudy.

It was so sunny a while ago…

The moment I thought that,

BOOOM!

The moment the lightning struck down, I heard the tremendous rumble of thunder and then it started to rain.

It was raining unbelievably hard.

Thirty seconds later, the rain was like a bucket that was flipped upside down.

It was a guerrilla downpour. [EN: The kind that would be taken advantage of in guerrilla tactics.]

I couldn’t see past 50 meters from the window because of the rain.

I hurriedly grabbed my phone.

Eita: It’s raining like hell. It’s fine if you don’t come.

I sent a message, but it wasn’t read.

Wait a minute.

She said she was going to walk over, right?

Is there a good chance that she has already left the house?

I got impatient.

Even if I had an umbrella, I’d probably still get pretty wet.

There was also a strong crosswind, and I was also worried about lightning.

I grabbed two umbrellas and opened the door.

It was raining so hard that I couldn’t hear anything around me.

If I could, I would have picked her up.

But then I realized something.

Where is Asuka-chan’s house?

I don’t know where she’s coming from or what route she’s taking.

If I go looking for her, there’s a chance we’ll end up passing by each other.

“I guess I’ll have to wait after all…”

I stood outside the door with my umbrella in my hand.

◆◆◆

I continued to wait outside the door, phone in hand.

The rain was getting heavier.

The sound of the rain was so loud that I could hardly hear what was going on around me.

It was a guerrilla downpour like I’ve never experienced before.

The LINE message was still unread.

It had been about ten minutes.

In the pouring rain, a girl with black hair arrived running from the left road in front of my apartment.

She was carrying something in her arms… and was without an umbrella.

“You’re kidding, right?”

I dash down the stairs of my apartment with my umbrella in my hand.

It might not be Asuka-chan, but it didn’t matter.

She looked up at me as I came down the stairs.

It was a soaking wet Asuka-chan.

Did you come without an umbrella in this rain?

It feels almost suicidal.

She was wet to an impressive extent. It was as if you were thrown into a pool as punishment.

The white blouse stuck to her body, basically transparent enough to see her cami and bra.

“Asuka-chan!”

I tilted the umbrella I was holding towards her.

“I’m sorry! I didn’t see the weather forecast…”

She was already half-crying.

“I-if you’re okay, please eat this later. Okay then!”

She pushed the bag she was holding so carefully to me and tried to leave.

“Wait a minute! You’ll catch a cold if you go home like this. Even lightning is dangerous. Just come up.”

“But, aren’t I bothering you…?”

“You’re not bothering me. Anyway, hurry up.”

I half-heartedly pulled the hesitant Asuka-chan into the room.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started